Sebec Village Associates - History

Sebec Village Associates (more commonly known as The Reading Room) was organized in the fall of 1946.  Mr. Frederick K. Rupprecht offered to give to a responsible group the Sebec Reading Room and library, which he had maintained for many years for the benefit of the townspeople.  The first formal meeting was held on July 5, 1947.  The organization of "Sebec Village Associates" was perfected, officers elected, by-laws adopted, and the application for incorporation signed.  

The original members of Sebec Village Associates were as follows:

Theodore Burgess

William Downs

Kenneth Lancaster

Stacy Lanpher

Abner Morrison

Edwin Wyman

Eugene Wyman

Gertrude Burgess

Otis Rogers

J. Livermore

Alice Chase

George Moore

Marjorie Moore

Edith Porter

Harriett Coburn

Wm. Burgess, Jr.

Bernard Alden

Anna Nelson

Albert Clukey

Richard Hughes

Hannah Hughes

Richard Blodgett

Allan Cuthbertson

Andrew Moore

Agnes Moore

Wm. Bryant

Helen Bryant

Everett Stone

Katherine Wyman

Edwin Wyman, Jr.

Heather Wyman

Phillip Badger

Florence Badger

*This information was posted by Shirley Nason Wright and taken from The History of Sebec, written by Shirley Nason Wright in 1987.