Milo Fire Department receives emergency drinking water donation

Submitted by Seth Barden on September 26, 2019 - 9:56pm

Stuart Hedstrom, Piscataquis Observer • September 27, 2019

MILO — Thanks to Anheuser-Busch and the Maine-based Valley Beverage, the Milo Fire Department now has a pallet of emergency drinking water to support relief efforts and hydration. A pallet containing 98 cases of drinking water was dropped off at the station mid-morning on Thursday, Sept. 26.

Valley Beverage Sales Manager Mike Crowell said the 98 cases contain more than 2,300 12-ounce cans of water, which was awarded to the Milo Fire Department via an application process. “It’s great and I’m sure it will go to good use,” he said.

Through a partnership with the National Volunteer Fire Council, the national association serving volunteer fire departments, Anheuser-Busch has committed to providing a million cans of emergency drinking water to fire departments this year to provide critical hydration to those who are protecting their communities when they need it most.

Crowell said the water is sourced from the Anheuser-Busch’s brewery in Cartersville Georgia. The brewery at times will halt beer production to can drinking water to be ready to help communities in times of disaster.

According to the company, Anheuser-Busch has a longstanding tradition of providing emergency drinking water and supplies for disaster relief efforts in partnership with the American Red Cross — dating back to 1906. Since 1988, Anheuser-Busch and their wholesaler partners have provided more than 80 million cans of water to U.S. communities affected by natural disasters nationwide. More information can be found at

A family-owned company since 1974, President Mike Runser and Valley Beverage ( said they are committed to providing customers with exceptional service and expert knowledge. Though they have far more brands and services than 45 years ago, the one constant over the years has been the dedicated, passionate and motivated workplace. Valley Beverage has locations in Oakland and Lewiston.

The National Volunteer Fire Council is the leading nonprofit membership association representing the interests of the volunteer fire, emergency medical and rescue services. The council serves as the voice of the volunteer in the national arena and provides advocacy, resources, programs and education.

Observer photo/Stuart Hedstrom
WATER FOR MILO FIRE DEPARTMENT — Anheuser-Busch and Valley Beverage dropped off a donation of 98 cases of drinking water to the Milo Fire Department on Sept. 26. From left are Jared Herrin of Valley Beverage, firefighter Ricky Bradeen, Valley Beverage Sales Manager Mike Crowell and firefighter Kris Wilson.

2nd Annual Brownville Rec. Table-or-Treat

Submitted by Seth Barden on September 26, 2019 - 8:12pm

Elaine’s Bakery named Chamber Business of the Year

Submitted by Seth Barden on September 25, 2019 - 7:47pm

Staff, Piscataquis Observer • September 20, 2019

MILO — Elaine’s Bakery is well known in Piscataquis County, not simply because their finger-licking products can be found in convenience stores, cafes and markets across the state of Maine but because of the bakery’s owner Elaine Poulin. Most would say of Elaine, “to know her is to love her.”

The bakery shop’s official name is “Elaine’s Basket Café & Bakery” because in addition to offering breakfast, baked goods and catering services, Elaine hand-weaves baskets of all shapes, sizes and colors and sells them from the shop, which has been in business for over 12 years. Elaine worked in state government for 30 years before leaving to pursue her dream, which was to do exactly what she is doing now. After spending mere moments with her, most can discern Elaine’s two greatest passions: baking, and people. “What I do every day is so rewarding,” she says. “I get to do what I love most while interacting with people, sharing stories and building relationships. I have the ability to make people smile; I don’t even consider it work because I’m having so much fun!”

In 2016 Elaine’s little shop expanded into the adjoining space of the building she rents, giving her customers more room to enjoy their breakfast and more space for conversation. Since the expansion, Elaine has also utilized the space for small parties and gatherings, as well as a bi-weekly open mic night for the community. The kitchen was also expanded, which was desperately needed as her customer base and employees continue to grow.

Eventually, Elaine hopes to package and ship her donuts and pastries around the world. In the meantime, she has created a much-loved place for the locals and tourists (many of whom specifically ask “How do I get to Elaine’s Bakery?”) to gather and enjoy delicious food and scrumptious sweets.

“What Elaine provides to the local community of Milo, coupled with her impact on tourism, would be enough to receive this recognition,” said Denise Buzzelli, executive director of the Piscataquis Chamber, “but there’s so much more that folks might not be aware of – the more meaningful reasons she was chosen as our 2019 Business of the Year recipient”.

Though Elaine was born and raised in New Canada, a small town outside of Fort Kent, she loves the community of Milo and considers it her home. What most folks might not know about her is that she possesses an enormous, benevolent heart. Buzzelli explains, “Elaine uses her business as a means to give young women who have had a troubled past an opportunity to start over; she provides them with work, mentors them, and trains them in business”.

Though the bakery has a constant flow of customers and her wholesale and catering businesses are booming, Elaine somehow manages to remember what is important, and remains grounded and committed to using her talents to make an impact in...

Read More

Brownville Hydrant Flushing

Brownville Town Office News
Submitted by Seth Barden on September 25, 2019 - 7:44pm

Penquis Solid Waste - Free Disposal

Submitted by Seth Barden on September 25, 2019 - 7:40pm

2019 Penquis Homecoming

Submitted by Seth Barden on September 23, 2019 - 6:09pm

Medford man involved in armed confrontation with police sentenced to two years in jail

Submitted by Seth Barden on September 23, 2019 - 6:05pm
Linked from: WABI TV-5

DOVER-FOXCROFT, Maine (WABI) A Medford man who was shot by police in April, has been sentenced to two years in jail after pleading no contest to several charges.

40-year-old Douglas Hazen was charged with criminal threatening with a firearm, failing to stop for an officer, and driving after suspension.

Police tried to pull him over, but he kept driving, which led to an armed confrontation at Hazen's house.

He was wanted at that time for eluding an officer in November of 2017...He also pled no contest to that charge today.

Milo Fire Dept. Open House - Oct. 13

Submitted by Seth Barden on September 23, 2019 - 6:00pm