Media Archive

Flu Shots available in Penquis Region

Article from The Eastern Gazette, Vol. 148, No. 42, October 19, 2002

DOVER-FOXCROFT - Supplies of influenza vaccine are now on hand, and flu shots are available through Penquis region physician practices that are associated with Mayo Regional Hospital.

People at highest risk of complications from the flu are urged to get their flu shots early. People in the high-risk group are 65 and older, and those under 65 with chronic illness, including heart and lung diseases, and diabetes. People not in the high-risk group may receive their shots any time during the months of November and December. Peak activity for the flu season typically comes between January and March, so vaccinations given in December will be effective.

Physician practices in the Penquis region are providing flu shots through the following schedule:

Corinna Family Practice, 278-3238, call ahead for flu shot appointment starting Nov. 1.

Dexter Family Practice, 924-7349, flu shots by appointment only : Wednesday, Oct. 16, 1:30-3:30 p.m.; Tuesday, Oct. 22, 10-11:30 a.m.; Thursday, Oct. 31, 10-11:30 a.m. and 1:30-3:30; Thursday, Nov. 7, 10-11:30 a.m.; Wednesday, Nov. 13,1:30-3:30 p.m.; Tuesday, Nov. 19,1:30-3:30 p.m.; Friday, Nov. 29,1:30-3:30 p.m.; Thursday, Dec. 5, 10-11:30 a.m. and 1:30-3:30 p.m.; Tuesday, Dec. 10, 10-11:30 a.m.; Wednesday, Dec. 18, 1:30-3:30 p.m.; Thursday, Jan. 2, 10-11:30 a.m. and 1:30-3:30 p.m.

Dexter Internal Medicine, 924-5226, walk-in services available for established patients during normal business hours, starting Oct. 16.

Dover-Foxcroft Family Medicine, 564-3424, flu shot clinics Friday, Nov. 1, 9-11 a.m. and 1:30-3:30 p.m.; Tuesday, Nov. 5, 9-11 a.m. and 2-6 p.m.; Tuesday, Nov. 12,9-11 a.m. and 1:30-3:30 p.m.; Tuesday, Nov. 19, 9-11 a.m. and 1:30-3:30 p.m.

Lesley Fernow Medical Associates, 564-7131, walk-in service available from 1-4 p.m. Tuesday, Oct. 22 and Oct. 29.

George Kousaie Family Practice, 564-7126, walk-in service available for established patients after Oct. 15 during normal business hours.

Guilford Medical Associates, 876-3547, shots available Wednesday, Oct. 16, 3-6 p.m. and Wednesday Oct. 23, 10-11 a.m. |

Milo Family Practice, 943-7752, shots available on walk-in basis during regular office hours,Wednesdays and Fridays, starting Nov. 1.

Three Rivers Health Center, 943-8848, shots available on walk-in basis during regular office hours, starting Nov. 1.

Getting an annual flu shot is an inexpensive, preventive action for almost everyone, and the flu shot in many cases will cost nothing.


NOTE - This article reflects the views of the author and not necessarily those of the TRC Alliance Team.