Media Archive

County elects slate of representatives

Article from The Piscataquis Observer, Vol. 166, No. 45, November 10, 2004

By Jessica Lee
Staff Writer

Turns down tax cap, bear-baiting initiatives

The old political adage needs a revision, circa 2004.

As Piscataquis County goes, so goes the nation.

Piscataquis County was one of only two counties in the state to vote last week to re-elect George W. Bush as President of the United States, favoring the Republican candidate with 53 percent (5,261) of votes. Washington County was the only other Maine county to vote to re-elect Bush.

Democratic candidate John E Kerry received 44 percent (4,378) of Piscataquis County's votes in the Nov. 2 election. Two percent of Piscataquis County's votes went to support alternative party candidates for president: Ralph Nader, David Cobb, Michael Badnarik, and Michael Anthony Peroutka.

On a national level. President Bush was re-elected to fulfill another four years in the nation's highest seat, receiving 51 percent of the electoral college votes to Kerry's 48 percent.

The county echoed the vote to fill the Second District Congressional seat, favoring democratic candidate and incumbent Michael H. Michaud with 53 percent (5,019) of votes. Michaud won the election with 58 percent of the votes district-wide.

Republican contender in the second district, Brian N. Hamel, received 44 percent (4,144) of Piscataquis County's votes. Hamel received 40 percent of the district's votes.

The county took a hard stance against both statewide referendum issues on the ballot, voting 64 percent to turn down the Palesky property tax cap initiative and 70 percent in opposition to the bear-baiting ban.

On the statewide level, 63 percent of the voters opposed the tax cap and 53 percent vetoed the bear-baiting ban.

In local races, Paul T. Davis Sr. of Sangerville, Republican candidate, received an overwhelming majority of votes in Piscataquis County for Senate District 27 seat (Dover-Foxcroft, Greenville and Millinocket areas) against Stephen S. Stanley of Medway. Locally, Davis received 72 percent (7,048) of the vote to Stanley's 28 percent (2,683). The district, as a whole, voted in favor of Davis, who was elected by a 59-41 percent margin. Both candidates were incumbents, but due to redistricting had to run against each other for the same seat.

Jim Annis of Dover-Foxcroft, the Republican incumbent for state House District 26 (Dover-Foxcroft and Milo area), won 68 percent (3,087) of the district vote, compared to 32 percent (1,484) for Democratic candidate Mary L. Deerfox of Dover-Foxcroft.

The race between Democratic candidate Sharon Libby Jones and Republican incumbent Earl E. Richardson, both of Greenville, for House District 27 (Greenville and Guilford area) was too close to call, and is being recounted (see full story). The vote was split nearly 50-50, with 2,462 votes for Richardson and
2,425 votes for Libby Jones.

The local vote to elect a Piscataquis County Commissioner in District 3 (Milo and Brownville area) to replace Eben DeWitt of Milo was very close. Lakeview Plantation resident Frederick Y. Trask, Republican candidate, received 1,415 votes to Brownville resident and Democratic candidate Dennis Green's 1,402. As of Tuesday, the Maine Secretary of State's office had not received a formal request for a recount, according to Doug Dunbar, deputy secretary of state. A written request for a recount was necessary by Tuesday, Nov. 9,at 5 p.m.

The county also followed a statewide and nation-wide trend this election in voter turnout, with 74 percent of registered voters participating. Statewide, voter turnout was 78 percent.

NOTE - This article reflects the views of the author and not necessarily those of the TRC Alliance Team.