Old News Archive

2003 Art Contest

March 30, 2003 - TRC

     District #1, Maine Federation of Women’s Clubs, Minnie McCormick, president, sponsored an art show at the Milo Town Hall Arts Center on Sunday, March 30th. Area students from Penquis Valley High School in Milo, Foxcroft Academy in Dover-Foxcroft, Katahdin High School in Sherman Station, and Piscataquis Community High School in Guilford displayed their artwork for judging. We were happy to greet about 60 visitors and students at this second annual art show. Many thanks to all who helped make this effort possible.

     A special thank you to Edwin Treworgy, president of Three Rivers Kiwanis Club and his wife Ethelyn, for making the easels to display the artwork.

     The clubs represented in District #1 are Cosmopolitan and Miosac of Dover-Foxcroft, Pamola Women’s Club of Sherman Station, and the Patten Women’s Club of Patten. Co-chairwomen for the event were Judi Walter of the Cosmopolitan Club and Merna Dunham, Member at Large of District #1.

     Winners from Penquis Valley High School were Amanda Kahl, first place, and Hillary Sproul, second place. Certificates were awarded to each student displaying artwork and monetary prized were presented to the winners.

     The Maine Federation of Women’s Clubs, which is a member of the General Federation of Women’s Clubs, has 44 clubs and 1 union, 1500 members in 7 districts around the state from Patten to Westbrook and Lubec to Kezar Falls. Artwork from around the state will be displayed and judged at the annual meeting of MFWC, which will be held in Bar Harbor on May 14 through May 16. Winners at the state level will be awarded monetary prizes at that time.

     Schools represented were Piscataquis Community High School, Guilford; Foxcroft Academy, Dover-Foxcroft; Penquis Valley high School, Milo; Katahdin High School, Sherman.


First Place $100, Amanda Kohl, Penquis Valley, Milo

Second Palce $75, Hillary Sproul, Penquis Valley, Milo

Third Place $50, Aaron Michaud, Katahdin High, Sherman

Fourth Place $25, Nathan Moore, Katahdin High, Sherman


Cartha Smith, Dover-Foxcroft

Thom Walter, Sebec

Peggy Lumpkins, Brownville

Dot Brown, Milo

Stephanie Cartwright, Guilford.

Prize monies were donated by Three Rivers Kiwanis, Dover-Foxcroft Kiwanis, Moosehead Mgf. Co and Three Women's Clubs.

Pictures of the Art

Special Thanks to Isabelle Warren for the pictures!

NOTE - This article reflects the views of the author and not necessarily those of the TRC Alliance Team.