Old News Archive

Piscataquis County Democrats to Hold Biennial Caucuses

February 20, 2006 - TRC

On Sunday, February 26th, Democrats in the municipalities and times listed below will caucus to select delegates to the Democratic State Convention, elect Municipal Committee Officers and County Committee members.

Julius Erdo, newly elected Chair of the Piscataquis County Democratic Committee, reminds all County Democrats as well as un-enrolled voters that the biennial caucuses are a time to make your voice heard. The caucuses are the front lines of grassroots politics. An important agenda item at the caucuses will be a review and discussion of the 2006 Maine Democratic Party Platform. Caucus attendees are asked to bring their viewpoints, ideas and questions for discussion.

"If we are going to move Maine forward and put people first, we need Democrats in every town to gather and talk about where the Democratic Party is heading and what you want the Party to focus on over the next year. It is essential that Democrats in Piscataquis County be part of this process," said Pat Colwell, Chairman of the Maine Democratic Party.

People not currently registered in a political party, who would like to enroll as a Democrat may do so immediately at the town office or an hour before the schedule time of the caucus.

If you have any questions, please call the name of the convener for your town listed below.

Thompson Free Library, E. Main St. Dover-Foxcroft - 2:OOpm -
Irene White, 564-2920

Brownville/Williamsburg :
Brownville Town Office, Rt. 11 - 3:00pm - Woody Higgins, 965-2261

Milo/Orneville :
Milo Town Hall- Pleasant St- 2:00 pm - Don Crossman, 943-5721

Sebec :
Thompson Free Library, E. Main St. Dover-Foxcroft - 2:00 pm -
Ruth Nason, 564-4623

NOTE - This article reflects the views of the author and not necessarily those of the TRC Alliance Team.