Old News Archive

PCEDC seeks Myrick Award nominations

November 07, 2009 - TRC

The Executive Committee of the Piscataquis County Economic Development Council (PCEDC) is seeking nominations for the seventh annual Warren "Pete" Myrick Community Service Award, to be presented at the annual meeting of the PCEDC Board of Directors on December 7th.

The Myrick Award is given by the Executive Committee to recognize a Piscataquis County resident, business or organization who exemplifies Pete Myrick's concern for and commitment to education, economic development and/or civic leadership in the region. Myrick, a Guilford resident who died in 2002, was a longtime educator in MSAD #4 and one of the founders of the PCEDC, serving as the Council's president in 2001.

Previous winners include: Owen Pratt, retired Dover-Foxcroft Town Manager (2003); Merlene Sanborn, Director of the Penquis Higher Education Center (2004); Roger Merchant of the Piscataquis County Cooperative Extension Service (2005); Edwin Treworgy, retired educator, long-term member of the MSAD#41 School Board, and member of the Three Rivers Kiwanis in Milo (2006), Tracy Michaud Stutzman, Executive Director of the Maine Crafts Association (2007), and Sherry French, Office Manager for WDME Radio (2008).

Criteria to be considered in determining the award winner will include the overall impact of the candidate's accomplishments, the duration of the candidate's engagement in community service activities, and the breadth of involvement in the community.

Nomination packages for the award must be received no later than 5:00 PM, Tuesday, November 17th. The package should consist of a 1-2 page letter that details how the candidate meets the award criteria in the specific areas of education, economic development and/or civic leadership, as well as any supporting documentation.

Nomination packages can be mailed or hand-delivered to: Dr. Ken Woodbury, Community Development Specialist, Piscataquis County Economic Development Council, 50 Mayo Street, Dover-Foxcroft, Maine, 04426. Nomination packages can also be sent via e-mail to Dr. Woodbury at kwoodbury@pcedc.org.

NOTE - This article reflects the views of the author and not necessarily those of the TRC Alliance Team.